Are You a Melburnian?

6 Aug

Today the Herald Sun has an article up called, “You’re not a Melburnian until…

There are 18 items on the list and I have to say, pathetically few apply to me. Like maybe about five? Perhaps that’s because so many of them have to do with coffee (which I don’t drink) or sports (which I don’t follow). Melburnians do seem obsessed with coffee and sports. That’s probably why I have a hard time making friends here. :-p

But I have acclimated to the bad traffic and the crazy weather. And in my very first week here, when I ventured out by tram to the CBD by myself for the first time, I did in fact look just like this guy:

“But it was sunny when I left!”

So how many items on the list can you check off? Anything you would add?

Edit: And now I bring you Part 2, which, in my opinion is a slightly better list: “Part 2: You’re not a Melburnian until…

5 Responses to “Are You a Melburnian?”

  1. araneus1 August 6, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    the herald-sun should burn in hell!
    the sport thing can be annoying, especially when you are trying to find somewhere to park and I’m sorry to hear about your lack of coffee.
    Melbourne has more book shops and libraries than anywhere else, cafes, movie, wineries …… seriously, just over look the sport thing and have fun……. and take up coffee.
    Terry

    • housewifedownunder August 10, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

      I’ve seen a lot of libraries, but not that many book shops. Seems like the bookstores are struggling here, just like everywhere else.

  2. julitownsend August 7, 2013 at 5:29 am #

    I was born and raised in the suburbs of Melbourne, and then raised my children there but I only said yes to four of those points. Is the Herald Sun suggesting I’m not a Melburnian? Pfft.
    I guess I’m wrong, but I’d also be inclined to spell it – Melbournian. I think someone from Sydney wrote the article. 😀

    • housewifedownunder August 10, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

      Since they came out with a part two with the suggestions generated by readers, I think other people felt the same as you. The second list is better, imo. Not so heavy on the sports obsession, anyway, and covers more every day type things.

  3. Gina August 14, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    I agree with your other commenters – I have lived in Melbourne all my life (60+ years), and I don’t agree with most of those things! I hate football for a start, and those nerds with weird clothes and face paint just look stupid.

Leave a comment