Aussie Christmas Cards

20 Dec

This year, I wanted to make some Christmas cards that would be a little different than the standard fare of snowflakes, angels, and trees. I found some really neat Australian Christmas scrapbooking papers by Feature Art that I thought would be perfect for making Christmas cards out of.  What could be cuter than koalas and wombats in Santa hats or a sleigh pulled by kangaroos? So I stocked up on their entire line of Christmas papers and some cardstock and went to work. Here are some of the finished cards:

023

020

011

014

013

017

008

004

005

012

003

001

009

016

018

015

002

It costs $1.60 to mail cards from Australia to the US and Europe. When I went to get some stamps for the cards, I was thrilled to find these super cool Christmas Island stamps that matched the theme of my cards perfectly. How cute are these???

The whole process of making the cards was pretty simple, as it was just a lot of cutting paper and gluing or taping it together. As much as I like the neat things you can do with rubber stamps, they are a major hassle and can be really messy. It’s much easier not to use them. So I saved quite a bit of time by avoiding stamps, other than the occasional “Merry Christmas” stamp. Most of the time, I just used the stickers, which I think look nicer, anyway.

I started out using Bazzill Basics cardstock because I liked the texture of it, but it really curled up badly when it got wet with glue (I prefer glue to double sided tape- it just seems easier to work with), so I switched to sturdier, non textured stuff for some of the cards.

Anyway, hope you like them! Let me know if you have a favourite. 😀

14 Responses to “Aussie Christmas Cards”

  1. Cosette December 20, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    These look great! It’s funny; I love rubber stamping, but I’ve never made cards because they always look too hard (and I’m kinda lazy). Maybe I’ll give it a shot sometime.

    • housewifedownunder December 20, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      They are really easy and if you skip things like stamps and dies, you really don’t need much in the way of supplies. Sign up for some of the card making classes at Flutterbuys in Preston. They do them for all levels. I did my wedding thank you cards with stamps, and while they turned out nice, it was just such a time suck because I was constantly having to clean the stamps and take them out and pack them back up again and so on. It took me nearly an hour to do each card because of that, whereas the Christmas cards only took about 20 minutes each.

      • Cosette December 20, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

        I just discovered Flutterbuys like a week ago. It’s within walking distance. Awesome shop. I am planning to take some classes there.

      • housewifedownunder January 9, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

        I love that store. The ladies that work there are really nice and they always have a really good selection of stuff.

  2. Nat December 20, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    Love the platypus!! I’ll be stealing your idea for next year! Love the look of these! Good job!

    • housewifedownunder December 20, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      Thank you! I’m glad you like them and feel free to steal. 😀 The animals sure are cute, aren’t they?

  3. megalagom December 21, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    LOVE THEM!! How cute and perfect! I love the idea of a koala and kangaroo Christmas card! I made LOTS of cards this Christmas and was silly enough to use glitter glue, thread, fabric, beads, and ribbons. Next year I will keep it simple – if I can. Paper is the way to go. I’ll be posting photos soon!

    • Eva December 21, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      I love the kangaroos pulling the sleigh! How cute!

      • housewifedownunder January 9, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

        I thought that was cute, too. I bet kangaroos can get across the outback faster than reindeer can. 😀

    • housewifedownunder January 9, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      I saw the ones you posted. They were nice! It looks like you put a lot of effort into them. I considered doing something fancier, but I did really complicated wedding thank you cards and I was pretty burned out on doing really time consuming cards. Nor did I have a lot of time left for Christmas cards. I was just glad to come up with something easy!

  4. gkm2011 December 22, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    The koalas are pretty cute!

    • housewifedownunder January 9, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

      Thanks, I like them, too! Koalas are my favourite Australian animal. 🙂

  5. Lee January 10, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    I have a real bug-bear about Christmas cards that are all about snowmen and robins (and blogged about it!) – so might try this next year! The cards look great.

    • housewifedownunder January 16, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      Thank you! I read your post on that and then looked at all the cards I had gotten and of course they were all filled with wintery scenes and such. But I guess that’s all they have for sale in the northern hemisphere. :-p

Leave a Reply

