Vintage Cardmaking

21 May

In an effort to be less of a hermit, I signed up for a cardmaking class at Flutterbuys up in Preston. Flutterbuys is a craft store and they have classes almost every day of the week for people who want to learn everything from scrapbooking to cardmaking to rubber stamping and everything in between.

I’m not a very crafty person, so I wasn’t sure how it would go, but my cards actually came out looking all right.

vintage_cardmaking

 

The one on the right was the more difficult one. First, we had to cut the silver and purple scrapbooking papers to fit the card. The leaves are actually ribbon, so you just cut a length of that and put a dab of glue on each leaf and position it on the purple paper.

Next we made the rosebuds by cutting out a spiral shape with a dye machine called a Cuttlebug and then quilling them into the shape that you see on the card. Getting the glue in the right place was tricky and my rosebuds kept trying to unwind themselves.You have to be careful not to wind them too tightly or they don’t look like rosebuds, but you also don’t want to wind them too loose or they look sloppy. This was probably the hardest part of the whole class.

While those dried, we added the bow by tying a piece of ribbon around the purple sheet of paper. Then we attached the silver sheet to the card stock with double sided tape, followed by the purple sheet. Once the rosebuds were done drying, we glued them in place and let that dry while we worked on the second card.

We started the card on the left by first cutting scalloped border with a special border punch. Next, we cut the brown piece of paper to size, placed double sided tape on the back, and folded the lace around the edges to stick to the tape. Adding more tape over the edges of the lace on the back, we then placed the brown paper onto the cardstock.

We used the leftover pieces of card stock (slightly textured, though it may not be obvious in the photograph) and scrapbook paper to make the center decoration. We used dyes to cut out the “Victorian rectangles” as they were called, one of card stock and a smaller one of the same brown scrapbook paper.

We also cut the flowers with dyes, folding each petal in half to give it some dimension. The leaves were cut with dyes and embossed to make raised “veins” on them.

The flower was arranged with the largest piece on bottom and smallest piece on top and we punched a hole into the center of our rectangles and fastened the flower to it with a small brad. The leaves were then attached with a small bit of double sided tape. For the finishing touch, we added some faux stick-on pearls to the bottom.

So now I have two nifty looking cards! I don’t know what I’m going to do with them, but I’m pretty proud of myself for doing arts and crafts and not screwing up or getting glue on my clothes.

11 Responses to “Vintage Cardmaking”

  1. megalagom May 21, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    They came out great! I love making cards, never went to a class but maybe I should! I haven’t made any cards since I moved (used to make one for every birthday or occasion) People absolutely love receiving them! Its one of those things I stopped doing when I moved, thank you for sharing your creations, you stirred the desire to make them again, and better yet to join a class and stop being bored! Great idea.

    • housewifedownunder May 21, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      Thanks! I decided I need a new hobby, so I’m hoping to try out a few different things. I read your post on not quitting what you love and I felt guilty because I’ve basically quit all my hobbies. I’ve got lots of crafty friends and relatives and I am always so jealous of all the neat things they know how to do! I’m going to try to make it to a stamping class on Saturday.

      • megalagom May 21, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

        Well, I’m happy that my post helped in your decision to try to be creative again! Good luck stamping!

  2. quirky May 21, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Sounds like it’s killing two birds with one stone. It keeps you crafting and you get out of the house. I’ve done the expat thing – we spent two years in Singapore so I really empathise with your struggle. Keep on keeping on 🙂

    • housewifedownunder May 22, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      It was definitely nice to get out of the house. I try to get out at least four times a week, but rarely do I go and do something new and in an area I’ve never been to before. I probably ought to do it more often!

  3. maggiemyklebust May 21, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Good Job!
    I love making cards and now thanks to your post, I think I’ll go and make my friend’s daughter a wedding card 🙂

  4. Cosette May 21, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Very nice cards. I know that store, but I’ve not been in it and didn’t know they offer classes. I love rubber stamping so I will be checking it out. Did you make any new friends?

    • housewifedownunder May 22, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Thank you!

      Yes, they offer classes just about every day. They’ve got a schedule of them on their website. Each class is only $25 and includes all materials. Next time you are back in the area, you should check it out. I’m sure you’d enjoy it.

      There was only one other lady there for the class I did and she had this annoying habit of telling stories and taking so long to get to the point that she forgot what she was talking about. She was nice enough, I guess, but two hours with her was about my limit!

  5. Amy May 22, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Very nice! Something you ought to continue doing! Have you tried any other classes since? I did something similar last year and it was really nice to do – I did a mosaic class & there were also some nice & interesting people in there, and we all had a great time.

    • housewifedownunder May 22, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

      That’s the first class like that I’ve done here in Australia. I’d definitely like to do some more. I find it is very peaceful to just sit and do crafts for a while.

      I’d also like to take some of the sewing classes at Thread Den. They offer a set of three basic classes, plus lots of others than teach you how to make specific things. My grandmother tried to teach me once and said I was hopeless, but maybe it’s time to try again.

      And since I’ve been doing a lot of baking lately, I’ve been reminiscing about the days when I used to do cake decorating. I looked into some classes for that, but they are all really expensive. If I could find a reasonably priced class for just the basics, I might take that. I figure I could use a refresher course before I plop down a huge chunk of change on learning to do tiered wedding cakes or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

