Makin’ bacon! (And a Really Good Potato Soup Recipe)

6 Mar

Some people may consider this blasphemous to say this, especially in this day in age when a cult of bacon lovers seem to be taking over the internet- or at least, taking over Facebook, but… I don’t really like bacon all that much. As such, I rarely buy it. When I used to buy it in America, I always got the pre-cooked kind that you microwave. Terrible, I know.

It’s been sort of chilly lately and I wanted to make this baked potato soup recipe that looked really good. My favourite restaurant back in America has the best cream of potato and bacon soup- I literally used to go there on potato soup night and order nothing but the soup- and this recipe looked very similar to that. Since I’ve been craving that soup so badly lately, I decided to give it a go.

It calls for a lot of bacon and, as you might expect, I couldn’t find the microwaveable stuff here in Australia, so I bought regular bacon (which took me half an hour to find, not being anywhere near the rest of the meat in the store).

I’ve never actually fried bacon myself. I’ve seen it done and I understand the general concept of throwing it in a frying pan and letting it cook in its own fat until it gets crispy. The only time I have ever actually cooked bacon before was in a fan oven and I just sort of left it in there for half an hour, flipping it a couple of times. And I didn’t eat any of it, so I don’t even know if it tasted okay. But I didn’t have an appropriate dish for cooking it in the oven this time, so I figured I’d fry it on the stove. How hard can it be, right?

So I sent H off on an errand and proceeded to throw the bacon strips in the pan. They were HUGE bacon strips. I thought about cutting them up, but I hate touching raw meat and I didn’t want to handle it more than I had to. I used the biggest pan I could find, one big enough for making paella, and tossed in a few strips all higgeldy-piggeldy.

It was hard to turn them because it kept splattering hot grease all over me and it made a huge mess on the stove. I put a lid on the pan to keep the mess factor to a minimum and just sort of let it simmer… on high heat. You know, so it would cook faster. I’m impatient!

H came home just in time to hear the smoke alarm going off. I saw him pull up and get out of the car and watched him make a funny face as he realised there was an alarm going off somewhere… oh, not somewhere, but our flat! He sort of reminded me of Road Runner from Loony Tunes the way he then bolted up the sidewalk.

Once he removed the battery from the smoke alarm, he wanted to know what the heck I had been doing, so I showed him my lovely new creation. It’s almost like a new form of art!

Extra crispy!

Luckily, H thought it made a tasty snack, so I didn’t have to throw it away. (Being a man, he’ll eat anything, and he also ate the leftover potato skins for me, too!) I kept a closer eye on the next batch of bacon and while it did not come out super crispy, it was edible and didn’t burn.

It turns out, though, that I was doing it all wrong. I belatedly found this excellent instructional video. Well, at least now I know for next time!

Despite the mishap with the bacon, the soup ended up turning out very well and was a big hit with G, who asked me to make it again “after [I’ve] had some practice making bacon”.

I made some minor modifications to the recipe to reflect metric measurements and what I was able to find at the store. So the Australian version of it is:

For the soup…

340 grams butter
1 medium brown onion, diced
65 grams flour
1.3 liters chicken stock
5 large potatoes (baked, peeled, and diced into bite-sized pieces) *** I used Golden Delights
8 strips cooked bacon
1 teaspoon dried parsley
550 mL heavy whipping cream
235 mL sour cream
200 grams sharp cheddar cheese, grated

For the garnish…

6 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 bunch spring onions, diced
100 grams sharp cheddar cheese, grated
Ground black pepper to taste

In a large pot, melt butter over low heat, taking care not to burn. Add in onions, and cook until tender. Add in flour, and stir constantly for one minute. Gradually add the chicken stock, continue to stir. Heat until the mixture has thickened and is bubbling. Next, add in potatoes, bacon, parsley, and heavy cream. Continue to cook for ten minutes. Stir in sour cream and cheese. Before serving, garnish with bacon, spring onion, pepper, and more cheese if desired.

It makes about 6-8 servings and refrigerates and reheats very well.

Yummy!

2 Responses to “Makin’ bacon! (And a Really Good Potato Soup Recipe)”

  1. megalagom March 6, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    Looks yummy, might try it!

  2. keepingiteasyandsimple March 7, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    It really is hard to cook something well if you don’t personally enjoy eating. Which is why i will never ever cook liver, cuz I would hate to serve bad liver. yeah, that’s it! LOL Your recipe is a little different then how I cook it so I will give it a try. I just bake my bacon however, I think it is much easier.

Leave a Reply

