Strawberry Crepes

7 Feb

A few weeks ago, I got a crepe pan that I’ve been dying to try out. I love crepes, but I’ve never made one before. I decided today would be the day.

The first three turned out pretty badly. One was undercooked, one was way too thick, and one ended up getting torn. But the remaining five turned out great! Hooray!

I used this recipe for Basic Crepes to make the batter. It was very simple and I didn’t even need to use an electric mixer to get a smooth batter.

The recipe says to use 1/4 cup of batter for each crepe, which I think is just about right. My crepe pan came with a little wooden tool for pushing the batter around to make it thin. It really does need to be as thin as possible. Simply tilting the pan back and forth as the recipe says to do is not sufficient (that’s how I ended up with one that was too thick). It has to be pushed around.

I also used a very large spatula for flipping them. When I used a smaller one, I broke the crepe. My spatula is nearly the size of the crepe pan and round on the sides, so it was large enough to hold the entire crepe while I flipped it.

For the filling, I improvised, trying to remember something I saw someone else do a long time ago. I don’t know if I got it right, but it tasted pretty good, so I’m not complaining.

For enough filling for four crepes, I used one cup of slices strawberries, a half tablespoon of melted butter, a half tablespoon of sugar, and a half tablespoon of orange juice. I mixed that all up in a bowl and let it sit while I made the crepes.

When the crepes were done, I spooned some of the strawberry mixture into the center, along with a dollop of plain yogurt, and folded it up. Easy-peasy! And very tasty, too.

It seems there will be crepes for supper tonight too. I mentioned to H when he called home from work that I had finally used that crepe pan we got and he was very jealous that I had made crepes without him. Now he wants to make them when he gets home, so I guess I’ll cobble together some savoury crepes with whatever we have in the fridge.

One Response to “Strawberry Crepes”

  1. megalagom February 7, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I *Love* Crepes…so much. I always just tilt the batter around the pan (removing it from the heat for a min so it doesn’t cook on impact) I usually take the easy route and smother jam on them…or nutella. But I should start changing it up, making real foody crepes with actual substance inside like cheese and ham. Good luck on future crepes!

Leave a Reply

