Tim Tams FTW

4 Feb

Today I’d like to talk about Tim Tams. I am totally addicted to Tim Tams and I blame them for rendering any exercise I do null and void.

What is a Tim Tam, you might ask? Oh, nothing special. Just the most divine, heavenly piece of chocolate sinfulness ever invented.

There are a variety of flavours, but I prefer the original ones, which are basically two chocolate biscuits with chocolate in between them and coated from top to bottom in more chocolate. I like them best when refrigerated.

I love the original chocolate ones so much I haven’t even tried any of the other flavours, but eventually I’d like to try the white chocolate and the caramel ones.

Now, it’s hard to find decent confections of any kind outside of the US because no other people in the world have managed to come even close to competing with Americans’ inventiveness for junk food. Sure, I’ve found some tasty things in just about every country I’ve visited, but for sure variety and sickly sweetness, America is king.

And I NEVER thought I would find a cookie outside of America that I would like so much. I am a cookie junkie. A cookie fiend. A cookie connoisseur. I could pig out on cookies every day if I didn’t have such an irrational fear of becoming a large round blob that just rolls from place to place, like Violet in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Although there are times when that fear doesn’t even begin to put the brakes on a cookie binge session. (Like the time a few years ago when I ate two dozen fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in one sitting. What? They were good!)

Anyway, I am ever so pleased that I have found an Australian cookie that I like just as much or better than all of my favorites back in America, although I may have to ask H to hide them from me soon…

If you’re just dying to try one of these delectable chocolate thingy-things and you’re not in Australia, you can order any or all of the varieties from AustralianProducts.com.

3 Responses to “Tim Tams FTW”

  1. megalagom February 5, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Read most of your posts and am so happy to have stumbled upon your blog 🙂 I love reading about expats all over the world and I love your writing. Very interesting and easy to read stuff! Looking forward to reading more! (Sorry to hear about your stolen shoes and chapstick, and the food post made me hungry- you have good taste! I’m so gonna try a lot of those!)

  2. The Modern Home Economist February 15, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    Ahhh Yes. Tim Tams. We always seem to have a full packet in the office and it takes all my daily wil-power not to grab several throughout the day…

  3. Londoner living in Peru February 15, 2012 at 4:18 am #

    Some valuable information you might like-
    If you ever go to the UK and are craving a Tim Tam- they are called Penguin bars. But are exactly the same.

    Delicious!

Leave a Reply

